top of page

Lord Send Me: God’s Calling on My Life


As a senior in college, I have the question “what are you doing with your life after graduation” asked of me on a weekly, sometimes even daily basis. Often times, I find it difficult to look beyond the present moment and recall the way that I have been called by God to honor him through my life. Today, I have resolved to pause and reflect on who God may be calling me to be and where he wants me honor him in the present moment and the days to come.

My Strengths

For the last several years, I have had friends, family members, professors and peers affirm that I am gifted in the ability to love others well. This is not a complex idea for me, I simply look at a broken person and cannot help but to have my heart ache for their needs. The Lord has blessed me with a passion for encouragement and an ability to show mercy to those in need. I believe that I have been called to show the love of Christ to those who do not feel loved or cared for.

Godly Desires

In his sovereignty, the Lord has created me with an empathetic soul and a deeply invested mind. Oftentimes, after interacting with an individual for a few moments, I can recognize the presence of an ache in their heart, and my compassion immediately ignites. I have a desire to care for the brokenhearted and impact the church in such a way that it constructs a life-on-life discipleship that leaves no believer without active investment from another. I desire to deconstruct the false idea that human worth is defined by outward appearance, accomplishments, or the opinions of man, and rebuild the understanding of what it means to be created in the image of God. My ultimate hope while on this earth is to teach other believers to receive the comfort of God and share it with those around them (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

What Makes Me Who I Am?

I am not known as the center-of-attention or authoritative speaker in any group, although I have thoughts, ambitions, and hopes that could shake Christian living at it’s core. I have always been seen as the quiet, sensitive, considerate and peace-making individual in the group whose introverted tendencies don’t exactly fit in. I have never felt comfortable in the spotlight, but am confident that the Lord has given me a voice that must be used. My convictions are strong, and my character bleeds into every aspect of my life, whether I realize it or not. The way that I care for the needs of others is by cultivating honest and personal relationships, treasuring the men and women that God has created for who they are, and not who they think they should be.

What is My Dream?

It is not often that you engage with individuals who are confident of their calling but unsure of how to implement it. In a world wrought with desires to make money, gain fame, and leave a legacy, I stick out as a sore thumb in my workplace, classes, and friend groups. My heart is to love the unloved and mend the

broken, in whatever capacity I can. In a perfect world, I would love to serve college students by opening my home, providing them a home-cooked meal, and showing them what the love of Christ truly looks like. I do not believe that counseling can be done effectively devoid of personal relationship, and I believe Christ has developed me in such a way that I can pour truth, healing, encouragement, and challenge into the lives of students who are willing to love and be loved.

I refuse to accept that the brokenness in this world cannot be mended.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page