top of page

I Have A Dream: A Biblical View of My Vision


“And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, ‘Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.’”

Revelation 21:3-4

In The Meantime

Right now, Christians are living as exiles in a foreign land, longing for a home they cannot reach, and waiting for a King whose time has not come (Philippians 3:20; Luke 12:40). Because of the nature of the redemption we receive at salvation, we have an incomplete renewal that leaves us always hungering for more, and constantly holding the tension of the burdens of the world and the freedom of the life to come (1 Corinthians 16:22; Philippians 1:23-26).

I consider that the Lord has called me to be a minister to the world, both the saved and the unsaved, in the midst of this “waiting period” known as life on earth. I have a hope and desire that God can and will use me to bring love, mercy, encouragement, and truth to a generation that does not know it. My hope and expectation is to be an advocate for Christ’s cause, a comforter to the broken-hearted, and an usher for Christ’s kingdom (2 Peter 3:12).

A Place to Just Be

The culture of the 21st century requires individuals to live a fast-paced lifestyle, ignoring the memorable moments, and rushing through their days to say that they have not left anything undone. In the Bible, Jesus often takes a step back from his work and ministry to worship, rest, pray, and find renewal (Mark 2:27, 6:31; Luke 5:16; Matthew 12:15, 14:13). I have a desire to replicate this lifestyle of abundant work and worshipful rest that Christ exemplified in his life. Jesus called those around him to come to him, leave their burdens behind, and take rest in his presence (Matthew 11:28-30). As I seek to develop a lifestyle of ministry, my goal is to provide people with a presence and a place to just be.

I am confident that Christ did not simply command people to find rest and immediately they were all able to lay aside their anxieties and stresses with no issue. His life and ministry was one defined by power and authority, but executed in grace and peace. He worked daily to provide space for people to know they were loved, treasured, and ultimately adopted by a perfect God who called them children. I believe that the Lord has called me to provide a safe place for broken and weary souls to find rest and comfort; I am still unsure of how I can do that well, but I know that Jesus’ example on earth is the driving force for my mission.

Passing it On

One of the greatest blessings about the Christian life is that those who have fellowship with Jesus Christ also have fellowship with other believers. My hope and prayer is that the Lord would bless me with the ability to cultivate a community of believers who can love one another despite their flaws, and walk through life with one another knowing their scars. Before Christ returns and makes all things new, we are given the opportunity to strive to bring restoration and healing to a shattered people--my hope is to share the peace and redemption of Christ with all.

I refuse to believe that nothing can be done.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page