top of page

Here I Stand: Biblical Values that Guide My Ministry


Prior to coming to faith in Jesus Christ, I considered myself a “good kid” and made a habit of doing whatever I could to avoid negative kick-back from my actions. My life and actions were guided by a fear of failure and disappointment. In the last 6 and a half years, I have been working to develop a biblical understanding of who I am and how I ought to live in light of my title: daughter of the Most High God.

Developing My Values

Over the last several years, I have been working to cultivate a deeper understanding of what the Lord has called me to, and seeking to discover where I find confidence in the things I believe. As I have studied Scripture, interacted with other believers, and sat under the teaching of various pastors and professors, I have come to understand that the Lord has clear values established for all Christians, but that he also works within the hearts and minds of individuals to cultivate personal values that guide the way they live their lives.

Values for All Believers

I believe that the Lord has called all people to recognize the worth in every individual (Genesis 1:26; Romans 9:1-5), and expects us to care for one another in practical, emotional, and spiritual ways (Acts 2:42-45; Matthew 25:40; Colossians 1:9-12). I consider that the Holy Scripture was compiled by human authors, empowered by the Holy Spirit (2 Timothy 3:16), that all believers are called to love God and love one another with all their heart (Luke 10:27), and commit their lives to living out the Great Commission by spreading the gospel to those around them (Matthew 28:19-20).

Personal Values

Not a single person on this earth has a life constructed of coincidences or mistakes. I am confident that the Lord is personally invested in the lives of his children, and that his influence in their lives is not limited to measurable blessings (Romans 8:28; 2 Corinthians 1:3-4; 1 Corinthians 15:10). I value the stories of every individual I come in contact with because I believe they are cared for and known by the Creator of the universe (Psalm 139:13). I believe that I have been equipped to care for the crushed in Spirit because the Lord has made me aware of the burdens of mankind. I value the transition from shame to honor, the growth of a person out of their bondage to sin, and the example that life-on-life discipleship provides for believers of all ages (2 Timothy 2:2; Titus 2:2-6).

How My Values Influence My Ministry

Because of the way that I have been shaped by the Spirit, I find it impossible not to live out the values and beliefs that the Lord has given me. My value of Scripture causes me to counsel the brokenhearted with truth (Psalm 34:18); my passion for those who are aching motivates me to go beyond myself and invest in the lives and stories of those around me. The conviction that I have about sharing the gospel reminds me that every day is an opportunity to open my mouth and tell someone to “come and see” what God has done, and can do in the life of a believer (John 1:39).

I refuse to let my knowledge of God stop in my own mind.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page